Radius

0 Mi. 100 Mi.

Tutor Bio

All children can be successful given the proper supports and if they know someone believes in them!
Subjects : Reading/Writing

I have been a classroom teacher for 19 years and loved teaching reading and writing to emergent readers and writers , especially ones learning English as a second language. Recently I have decided to pursue my favorite subjects of reading and writing and became a Reading specialist. Now I can work with a more varied age range and abilities , which enables me to work with students, parents and teachers in creating partnerships that promote best practices in literacy acquisition. I truly love what I do and as much as students and parents think I am helping them , value the knowledge I am getting from their children. For example, I have worked with many 3rd-5th graders on written responses. I have learned it is challenging for so many writers to unpack the questions then organize their thoughts to be able to reply back about the text. I love teaching this process. I also love working with beginning readers that are struggling with phonemic awareness or lack foundational skills to help them in their reading . My training in Reading and Recovery and Orton Gillingham have proven to be so successful in helping students. I love building on students’ prior knowledge to make them successful. All students know things , many times it takes scaffolds and one on support to show this . I truly love teaching reading and writing , and observing how students learn best.

Experience

23 years

Hourly Rate

$75-$85 per hour

Certification

Yes

Availability

Check Your Date(s)

Address

  • Address:

TUTOR’S QUALIFICATIONS

  • Experience (years teaching/tutoring) :23
  • Certification:Yes
  • Educational History: Education Qualification: graduate Undergraduate College: University of Pittsburgh Undergraduate Major: Elementary Education Graduate College: University of Pittsburgh Graduate Type Of Degree: Masters in Education Second Graduate College: Bowie State University Second Graduate Type Of Degree: Reading Certification
  • What tutor enjoys knowing prior to session:
    • Student’s academic needs (subject area)
  • Hourly Rate: $$75-$85

TUTOR PREFERENCES

  • TUTOR PREFERS TO HAVE SESSIONS :
    • Location I Select
  • Tutor prefers the following payment methods:
    • Cash on Site
    • Check on Site

Grade Level

- Not found.

Review & Q&A

User Login

Related Tutor