About Taryn Q.

Elementary Reading and Math Teacher, Orton-Gillingham. Trained

Hi there!  My name is Taryn, and I am an enthusiastic elementary educator with a passion for helping students unlock a love of learning!  I believe that research-based practice, coupled with social-emotional learning, is the key to creating a positive environment conducive to student growth.
I am trained in the Orton-Gillingham approach to teaching reading and am particularly interested in using multisensory techniques to enhance struggling readers’ understandings. I have my Master’s of Education, am trained in the inquiry-based International Baccalaureate framework, and also obtained a 120-hour TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) certificate. I have served as both a first and second grade teacher within Montgomery County Public Schools in Maryland and most recently taught first grade for the 2019-2020 school year at an international school in Denmark.
My favorite part of tutoring is the individual connections I get to form with students in a one-on-one setting!  I use data to drive instruction and individualize each tutoring session so that it is catered specifically to your child. I love witnessing students’ confidence grow as they independently apply the skills we have learned within our tutoring sessions!  I do my best to make learning engaging and fun and incorporate as much movement as possible into my lessons.
I would love to work with your learner! Please do reach out if you have any questions at all or think I may be able to be of assistance. I hope to hear from you soon!
Experience

5 years

Hourly Rate

85 per hour

Certification

Yes

Availability

Check Your Date(s)

TUTOR’S QUALIFICATIONS

  • Experience (years teaching/tutoring) :5
  • Certification:Yes
  • Educational History: Education Qualification: graduate Undergraduate College: University of Maryland Undergraduate Major: Psychology Graduate College: University of Maryland Graduate Type Of Degree: Master's of Education in Elementary Education
  • What tutor enjoys knowing prior to session:
    • Student’s academic needs (subject area)
  • Preferred Age Group:
    • Elementary K-5
  • Hourly Rate: $85

TUTOR PREFERENCES

  • TUTOR PREFERS TO HAVE SESSIONS :
    • Location I Select
  • Tutor prefers the following payment methods:
    • Cash on Site

Contact Now

1. Choose Date & Time
  • All Booked
  • Unavailable
  • Available
    Please select date to show timeslot.
Student info

Review

0 Star -
0 Review
0.00% Completion Rate

0 Completed Task

0
0
0
0
0

User Login

Related Tutor