About Michele C.

Here to help YOUR child thrive!

My name is Michele Cabrera and I am a certified teacher.  I am 42-years old, and after teaching in Maryland as an elementary teacher, I have decided to focus more time tutoring one-on-one or in small groups to help students who need more individualized support or subject-matter enrichment.   There are such diverse learning needs and abilities throughout all grades in our State that I want to provide more students with the individualized teaching that they need and deserve.

I have taught elementary math, reading, writing, handwriting, and science; and, throughout the years, I have created lessons, projects, experiments, and activities that encourage curiosity, critical thinking, problem-solving, teamwork and growing independence.  I have also served on my last school’s STEM Committee and am proud that we completed the process to become a STEM-certified school.  I also founded that school’s environment club, served as an assistant coach for Girls on the Run in 2017, and served as a moderator on the Design and Build Club.  I have two middle school children (6th & 8th graders) of my own and have helped support their academic needs over the years as well.  I am confident that I could also help students in the middle school grades, specifically in language arts and strengthening students’ writing skills (which are critical skills cross-curricular).  I also enjoy spending time with my husband, our dog, and our family and friends.

Prior to becoming a teacher, I was a Maryland and D.C. attorney for over 10 years, during which time I served as a court-appointed mentor to newly admitted attorneys and as a court-appointed child-advocate.  I retired from the practice of law to pursue my passion for teaching and I haven’t looked back since!

Experience

8 years

Hourly Rate

65 per hour

Certification

Yes

Availability

Check Your Date(s)

TUTOR’S QUALIFICATIONS

  • Experience (years teaching/tutoring) :8
  • Certification:Yes
  • Educational History: Education Qualification: doctorate Undergraduate College: James Madison University Undergraduate Major: Political Science Graduate College: Columbus School of Law Graduate Type Of Degree: Juris Doctor Second Graduate College: Notre Dame of Maryland University Second Graduate Type Of Degree: Teaching certification
  • What tutor enjoys knowing prior to session:
    • Student’s academic needs (subject area)
  • Preferred Age Group:
    • Elementary K-5
  • Hourly Rate: $65

TUTOR PREFERENCES

  • TUTOR PREFERS TO HAVE SESSIONS :
    • Library
  • Tutor prefers the following payment methods:

Contact Now

1. Choose Date & Time
  • All Booked
  • Unavailable
  • Available
    Please select date to show timeslot.
Student info

Review

5 Stars -
2 Reviews
0.00% Completion Rate

0 Completed Task

2
0
0
0
0

    2 reviews on “Michele .”

    1. Tracie DiBernardo says:

      Compassion and Quality

      Mrs Cabrera Taught my Son in third grade and she Was absolutely amazing. She showed him what his potential was and encouraged him. She is passionate about Education and it shows!

    2. Allegra Berle says:

      The Best!!

      Highly recommend Michele. Where repeated attempts from myself as a Mother, as well as from past teachers to get my children focused, interested, engaged, motivated, confident, and successful, failed, Michele swooped in and saved the day, achieving all of these things. My children respond to, admire, and respect Michele, are excited for their sessions, and for the opportunity to grow their skill sets and learn with her. They previously had zero interest in learning, however now come home excited to tell me about everything that they did and learned in each session. She somehow connects with them each on an individual level, and immediately knows their strengths, weaknesses, and needs. She has also provided me with priceless input and pointers to implement at home. In only 12 sessions, my 6 yr old entering kindergarten who struggled with pretty much everything across the board, can now write his name, identify letters and their sounds, he can count with ease and is familiar with his numbers, and he can create and identify patterns. My 13 year old entering 8th grade, in that same amount of time, read 2 books, wrote 2 amazing book reports, and completed a massive math packet. The turnaround was amazing, as is her kindness, patience, and positive spirit. We will definitely continue working with her as needed throughout the school year.

User Login

Related Tutor