Radius

0 Mi. 100 Mi.

Tutor Bio

Highly Energetic and Effective Teacher Tutor
Subjects : Elementary Tutoring, Math, Reading/Writing, English, College Essay, College Essay

Hi there! Ms. M. here: I currently teach 4th and 5th grade Reading, Writing, Social Studies and Science, for Special Education students, at a DCPS elementary school in NW, Washington, D.C. While my biggest passion is literature, I have previously taught PreK through 5th grade in all subjects (Math, Reading, Writing, Science, Social Studies, and Social-Emotional, Behavioral and Executive Functioning skills). I love tutoring, as much as I love my job as a differentiating instructor, because it enables me to cater my instruction to the individual interests and needs of a particular student. Every student learns differently and has different passions. I have always loved crosswords and puzzles, and for me, figuring out how to teach each of my students is like solving another puzzle!

When I am not teaching, I enjoy playing and hiking with my Golden Retriever, Buster, watching movies, doing trivia with my friends, and reading books for my many book groups.

I have a Bachelor of Arts in English, a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science, and a Juris Doctorate. Additionally, I am a certified Wilson Reading System instructor (phonics program designed for students with dyslexia) and a certified dyslexia specialist. In my role, as a Special Education teacher and case manager, I have worked with students with ADHD, Autism, Specific Learning Disabilities, Dysgraphia, Dyslexia, Emotional Disturbances and Anxiety, and Hearing and Language Impairments. I have received a Highly Effective rating every year that I have taught and I have a proven track record of closing the achievement gap for ELL, low-income, and Special Education students. I was nominated for Teacher of the Year in 201y.

I know that Distance Learning this year has been challenging! Don’t worry, I can help.

Experience

10 years

Hourly Rate

75 per hour

Certification

Yes

Availability

Check Your Date(s)

Address

  • Address:

TUTOR’S QUALIFICATIONS

  • Experience (years teaching/tutoring) :10
  • Certification:Yes
  • Educational History: Education Qualification: undergraduate Undergraduate College: University of Rochester Undergraduate Major: English and Political Science Graduate College: Wake Forest University School of Law Graduate Type Of Degree: Juris Doctorate Second Graduate College: Fitchburg State University Second Graduate Type Of Degree: Dyslexia Certification Program
  • What tutor enjoys knowing prior to session:
    • Student’s academic needs (subject area)
    • Student’s learning style
    • Student’s interests - what do they like to do outside of school?
    • Student’s grade/age
  • Hourly Rate: $75

TUTOR PREFERENCES

  • TUTOR PREFERS TO HAVE SESSIONS :
  • Tutor prefers the following payment methods:

Grade Level

  • Preschool
  • Primary (Kindergarten- Grade 2)
  • Upper Elementary (Grades 3-5)
  • Middle School (Grades 6-8)
  • High School (Grades 9-12)

Review & Q&A

User Login

Related Tutor